All full-time teachers of law and clinical law attached to the following institutions  are ordinary members of the Society unless they advise the Honorary Secretary in writing that they do not wish to be members:

  • University of Cape Town;
  • University of Botswana;
  • University of Kwazulu-Natal;
  • University of the Free State;
  • University of Fort Hare;
  • Nelson Mandela University;
  • University of Limpopo;
  • North West University;
  • University of Pretoria;
  • University of Johannesburg;
  • Rhodes University;
  • University of South Africa;
  • University of Stellenbosch;
  • Walter Sisulu University;
  • Varsity College;
  • University of Venda;
  • University of the Western Cape;
  • University of the Witwatersrand;
  • University of Zambia; and
  • University of Zululand.

Any person who does not qualify for ordinary membership may apply to the Honorary Secretary to be admitted as an associate member and such application shall be decided upon by the Council. Honorary membership may be acquired by a person after a general meeting invites him or her on the recommendation of Council on the grounds of extraordinary service in the research and teaching of law to become an honorary member and he or she accepts the invitation.

The office bearers of the Society are:

President of SLTSA:  

Prof. Puseletso Letete

Associate Professor in Tax Law at the University of South Africa

Puseletso Letete is an Associate Professor in Tax Law at the University of South Africa (UNISA) where she lectures tax law at both undergraduate and postgraduate level and supervises postgraduate students. She holds a doctoral degree (Tax Law) from the University of Edinburgh; a Masters in Commercial Law from the University of Cape Town; and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the National University of Lesotho. Prior to joining the University of South Africa, she lectured tax law and public international law at the National University of Lesotho. She has researched and published on VAT law and taxation of cross-border transactions in Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the interaction of international economic law and tax law in Southern African Customs Union (SACU). She is registered as a Master practitioner by the South African Institute of Tax Practitioners (SAIT) and a member of the International Fiscal Association SA branch. She is the current President of The Society For Law Teachers in Southern Africa (SLTSA).


Ms. Fiona Kaplan

Head of School: Law; Varsity College

Fiona earned her BA in 1993 (majoring in English and Legal Studies) and her LLB in 1995 from the then-University of Natal in Durban. She completed her LLM from the University of Free State in 2016, her dissertation was entitled: “Stakeholder interests in business rescue: the quest for a sustainable balance.”

Fiona did her Articles of Clerkship in Durban and was admitted as an Attorney in 1998. She worked in London in the field of Investment Management from 1998 to 2004. She began her teaching career in 2005 at the Applied Law department of the Durban University of Technology. She started her career at the IIE Varsity College as a part-time law lecturer in 2006. She began managing the Law programme nationally from 2007, and was promoted to Head of School: Law at Varsity College in 2015. She has presented at both national and International Law conferences in the field of Business Rescue and Insolvency Law and has a keen interest in this area.

Honorary Secretary:

Dr. Marius van Staden

Lecturer of public law at the University of Johannesburg. Read more about Dr Van Staden here.

Honorary Treasurer:

Prof. Christa Rautenbach

Professor of law at North-West University. Read more about Prof Rautenbach here.